Friday, July 30, 2010

Queens Of The Stone Age @ The 15th St Tavern, Denver CO 09-02-1999

This show is one of the reasons I miss the 15th Street Tavern so much.  I remember it being hot, sweaty and packed that night.  Good times.  I know that they went on to become pretty big rock stars and everything. And they have put out some really good albums over the years as well.  But for me this was when they were at the height of their powers.  The first self titled record and Rated R set a bar that they have yet to best.

I had only been recording shows for 5 months when I caught this show.  Coincidentally the first show I ever tried to record was also Queens Of The Stone Age opening up for the Smashing Pumpkins at the Ogden back in April of 1999.  This got traded around in the CDR trading circles back in the day but this is a fresh transfer from my master recordings with a fair amount of tweaking on my part.  I think its an improvement.  Enjoy.

I got these pictures from that night from the old 15th Street Tavern website years ago.  I can't remember who took them but if it was you, or you know who did let me know and I'll give them credit.

Queens Of The Stone Age

15th Street Tavern
Denver Colorado
September, 2 1999

Taped , Transferred, & Mastered by SxPxDxCx
Source: Coresound CSB's > Sharp 722 minidisc
Transfer: Sharp 722 (Analog) > SBLive > Cooledit > CDWave > FLAC > MP3
Time: (89:48.55)

01. Regular John
02. Infinity
03. Mexicola
04. You Think I Ain't Worth A Dollar But I Feel Like A Millionaire          
05. How To Handle A Rope
06. Eccentric Man
07. The Bronze
08. Avon
09. Monster In The Parasol
10. If Only
11. Hispanic Impressions
12. You Can't Quit Me Baby
13. Rickshaw
14. Jr. High Love
15. You Would Know
16. Tension Head ( end is cut)
17. Born To Hula
18. A #1
19. Walking On The Sidewalks


A few small drop outs during track 01.

The crowd got a little wild during Regular John and the security guy decides he is going to do something about it and accidentally unplugs Josh's power strip turning off his whole guitar rig.


Drums: Gene Trautmann
Bass, vocals: Nick Oliveri
Guitar, Keyboards: Dave Catching
Guitar, vocals: Josh Homme



Tuesday, July 13, 2010

Suburban Home Records Mix Tape Volume 5 Someone's Gonna Die

I'm a big fan of Suburban Home Records and a lot of their artists.  As I'm sure you could tell from some of the recordings I have posted.  Anyway they have a new digital compilation out and wanted some help spreading it around.  Check it out here....

Someone's Gonna Die Suburban Home Records Mix Tape Volume 5

01 I Can Lick Any Sonofabitch In the House - Swear To God.mp3
02 I Can LIck Any Sonofabitch In The House - Postcards and Apologies (Two Cow Garage).mp3
03 Two Cow Garage - Postcards and Apologies.mp3
04 Michael Dean Damron - Waiting Around To Die (Townes Van Zandt).mp3
05 Townes Van Zandt - Waiting Around To Die.mp3
06 Austin Lucas - Sleep Well (Demo).mp3
07 Trampled By Turtles - Wait So Long.mp3
08 Oblio's Arrow - End of the Burning Moon.mp3
09 Tim Barry - Exit Wounds.mp3
10 Slobberbone - Placemat Blues.mp3
11 John Moreland & the Black Gold Band - Bastards Of The Highway.mp3
12 Jeff Rowe - Kate.mp3
13 The Replacements - Unsatisfied.mp3
14 Jon Snodgrass - Fast in Last.mp3
15 Arliss Nancy - Stella Lovely.mp3
16 Jr. Juggernaut - Another Two Weeks.mp3
17 Alexander Hudjohn - Down So Low.mp3
18 Calling Morocco - Break Your Heart.mp3
19 Tin Horn Prayer - Louis Collins.mp3
20 Jared Grabb - Devil Between.mp3
21 Lucky Old Sun - Back In Style.mp3
22 Armchair Martian - ...not fine. demo.mp3
23 The Takers - Drift.mp3
24 Look Mexico - Take It Upstairs, Einstein.mp3
25 Geraldine Fibbers - Lilybelle.mp3
26 Pariah Beat - Elvis in Jerusulum.mp3
27 Drag the River - Beautiful & Damned.mp3
28 BEERS - I Love You (But I Don't Trust You).mp3
29 The Evening Rig - Half Asleep.mp3
30 Hank Williams Jr. - If You Don't Like Hank Williams.mp3

Friday, July 2, 2010

Melvins, Denver, CO 2010-06-29

I've seen the Melvins a lot of times over the years and this was easily one of the best show I have seen from them.  The double drum attack of Dale Crover and Cody Willis is unfuckwithable.  I hope you enjoy my recording from that night.


Denver, CO 2010-06-29

Taped and Transferred by SxPxDxCx
Source 1: MBHO KA-200N > JK Labs DVC-V12 > JB3
Transfer: JB3 > USB > Cooledit > CDWave > FLAC

Disk 1 Set 1
Time (42:23.74)

01. - intro  -
02. Sacrifice
03. Civilized Worm
04. Black Stooges
05. Pig House
06. Electric Flower 
07. Anaconda
08. Black Bock
09. The Kicking Machine
10. Billy Fish
11. Skin Horse

Disk 2 Set 2

01. - intro -
02. The Water Glass
03. Evil New War God
05. The Talking Horse
06. Hung Bunny
07. Roman Bird Dog
08. Let It All Be
09. My Generation
10. Revolve
11. Bacon Industry
12. Lovely Butterfly


LINK TO FLAC Bittorrent on CoTapers