Sunday, May 27, 2018

Fu Manchu @ Streets Of London, Denver CO, 2018-05-18

I'm sure I probably first heard Fu Manchu like a lot of people.  Man's Ruin releases at the height of that "stoner rock" scene.  So many great bands were birthed from the time.

Caught them live many times back then but it has been more than a decade at least since I have seen them live.  They still sounded as great as ever.  Fun to see them in such a small place like Streets of London.  I'm loving seeing shows there. 

They upped the PA for these shows and I think this sounds really nice for a small club recording.  There was a super fan up front requesting some oldies.  We got treated to the rarely played 'Time Tp Fly' and 'Superbird'.  Enjoy

Fu Manchu

Streets Of London
Denver CO (USA)

Recorded and Mastered: SxPxDxCx
Source: AT933 >SP-SPSB-1 > M10
Transfer: M10 > USB > Adobe Audition > CDWave > FLAC
Run time: (86:03.54)

01 - intro -
02 Squash That Fly
03 Clone of the Universe
04 California Crossing
05 Regal Begal
06 Weird Beard
07 Hell on Wheels
08 (I’ve Been) Hexed
09 Evil Eye
10 Time To Fly
11 Mongoose
12 Nowhere Left to Hide
13 Laserbl'ast!
14 King of the Road
15 Superbird
16 Il Mostro Atomico


Monday, May 21, 2018

Hot Snakes @ Oriental Theater, Denver CO, 2018-05-18

Very few bands can take as long of a break as the Hot Snakes did and come back sounding better than ever but that is just what they did.  I put their new album Jericho Sirens in my top 5 records of the year easily.

The prospect of them playing live again was just as exciting and of course they delivered.  What a great show.  The last time I had seen them was in 2004 at the Bluebird.  Hopefully I won't have to wait another 14 years to catch them again.


Hot Snakes

Oriental Theater
Denver CO (USA)

Recorded and Mastered By: SxPxDxCx
Source : MBHO KA-200N > Niaant IPAs > M10
Transfer: M10 > USB > Adobe Audition > CDWave > FLAC
Time: (79:16.02)

01 - intro -
02 Death Camp Fantasy
03 Who Died
04 LAX
05 I Hate the Kids
06 Gar Forgets His Insulin
07 XOX
08 Why Don’t It Sink In?
09 Six Wave Hold-Down
10 Death Doula
11 10th Planet
12 I Need a Doctor
13 Suicide Invoice
14 Having Another?
15 Jericho Sirens
16 - interlude -
17 If Credit's What Matters I'll Take Credit
18 Automatic Midnight
19 No Hands
20 - encore -
21 This Mystic Decade
22 Plenty for All
23 - interlude -
24 Braintrust
25 Hi-Lites
26 Retrofit


Tuesday, May 15, 2018

Murder City Devil @ Psycho Vegas, Las Vegas NV, 2017-08-20

The Psycho Vegas festival is mostly a heavy metal kind of event.  But the root of most of that music is just good ol' rock n roll.  Which is why I didn't think it was odd that Murder City Devils were one of the first bands announced for the 2017 line up.  Personally I was stoked.  Based on the number of people that came out to see them on that Sunday afternoon maybe most people weren't. Their loss.

It was weird seeing them up on a giant stage with big Vegas lights.  Having mostly seen them in their heyday playing at dirty dive bars and smaller theater.  They delivered the rock though and the faithful that were in attendance were treated to a fantastic setlist spanning their entire discography.


Murder City Devils

Psycho Vegas
The Joint
Las Vegas, NV (USA)

Recorded and Mastered By: SxPxDxCx
Source : M10 internals
Transfer: M10 > USB > Adobe Audition > CDWave > FLAC
Time: (47:00.00)

01 Press Gang
02 It's in My Heart
03 Idle Hands
04 I Want a Lot Now (So Come On)
05 Hey Sailor
06 Somebody Else's Baby
07 I Drink the Wine
08 Cruelty Abounds
09 I Don't Wanna Work For Scum Anymore
10 Dance Hall Music
11 Eighteen Wheels
12 Dancin' Shoes
13 Hey Playboy
14 Rum To Whiskey
15 Broken Glass


Monday, May 14, 2018

Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds @ Aztlan Theater, Denver CO, 1986-10-31

Another tape out of the Lantz box.  He didn't record this one.  Not sure who did.  I'm sharing this as a piece of Denver and music history.  The sound is a little rough on this one.  Fans only.

Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds

Aztlan Theater
Denver CO (USA)

Recorded: unknown
Source: unknown > cassette
Transfer: cassette > line-in > Adobe Audition > CDWave > FLAC
Run time: (55:14.65)

01 I'm Gonna Kill That Woman
02 From Her To Eternity
03 Stranger Than Kindness
04 Long Time Man
05 Train Long Suffering
06 Knockin' On Joe
07 Jacks Shadow
08 Muddy Water
09 The Singer
10 Your Funeral, My Trial


Thursday, May 3, 2018

Love Battery & Spell @ Seven South, Denver CO 1992-04-10

The year was 1992.  The grunge backlash wasn't in full swing yet and tons of bands were trying to get on the cash band wagon.  To say that the market was over saturated would be an understatement.

Lots of great bands got overlooked despite major label exposure.  This show from a Lantz Barbour tape includes two of those bands.  One from Seattle and one from Denver.

Love Battery out of Seattle put out a bunch of albums in the 90s but never got much traction. 

Spell out of Denver put out one amazing album on Island Records and a couple 7 inches and nothing else.  Spell featured  Garrett Shavlik from the Fluid on drums and vocals, Tim Beckman (guitar, vocals), Chanin Floyd (bass, vocals).  The last two went on to form a great band called the G.E.D.s

The club Seven South turned into the Hi Dive in the aughts.  Enjoy.

Love Battery

Seven South
Denver CO (USA)

Recorded: Lantz Barbour
Transfered and Mastered: SxPxDxCx
Source: Realistic SCP-29 > cassette
Transfer: cassette > line-in > Adobe Audition > CDWave > FLAC
Run time: (58:46.51)

01 Easter
02 Foot
03 Sometimes
04 Damaged
05 Cool School (Trane of Thought)
06 See Your Mind
07 Between The Eyes
08 Highway of Souls
09 Out of Focus
10 - unknown song -
11 Side (With You)
12 Feet
13 - unknown song -
14 - unknown song -
15 KCSU Station IDs




Seven South
Denver CO (USA)

Recorded: Lantz Barbour
Transfered and Mastered: SxPxDxCx
Source: Realistic SCP-29 > cassette
Transfer: cassette > line-in > Adobe Audition > CDWave > FLAC
Run time: (26:36.66)

01 Safe
02 Superstar (fades out) ^
03 More (fades in)  ^
04 interlude
05 (untitled) +
06 Mom
07 interlude
08 Outta The Woodwork % 
09 Straight To Hell
10 instrumental (unknown title)

^ incomplete songs
% unsure if this is the correct song title. Not on their only release.
+ this is the untitled bonus track on the bands only CD