Thursday, April 25, 2013

Bob Mould @ The Bluebird 2013-04-21

I never saw Husker Du or Sugar during their heydays.  I saw Bob solo a couple times with mixed results.  The shows were good and he even pulled out the electric for some tunes but it wasn't the same without a band.  Loved the return to form when I heard his newest record Silver Age for the first time.

Was really happy when I saw that finally their was a Denver date for his tour.  It was well worth the wait.  Loud fast ruled the night and his cracker jack band tore it up.  Best show by a rock trio I've seen all year.

Captured a pretty nice recording.  Hope you enjoy it.

Bob Mould

Bluebird Theater
Denver, CO (USA)

Recorded and Mastered by SxPxDxCx
Source: AT933 >SP-SPSB-1 > M10
Transfer: M10 > USB > Cooledit > CDWave > FLAC
Run time: 79:01.01

01 The Act We Act
02 A Good Idea
03 Changes
04 Helpless
05 Hoover Dam
06 - interlude -
07 Star Machine
08 The Descent
09 Round The City Square
10 Steam Of Hercules
11 Come Around
12 Your Favorite Thing
13 Could You Be The One?
14 I Apologize
15 Chartered Trips
16 Keep Believing
17 - encore -
18 Egøverride
19 If I Can't Change Your Mind
20 Celebrated Summer
21 - encore 2 -
22 Something I Learned Today
23 In A Free Land

Bob Mould -- guitar, vocals
Jason Narducy -- bass, backing vocals
Jon Wurster -- drums

Links removed at the request of the band. 

Monday, April 22, 2013

Ghost @ The Ogden, Denver, CO 2013-04-18

Seems like these guys could blow up in the States.  They have a major label release out so someone is banking on that happening as well.  There was a ton of other shows going on in Denver on all the dates surrounding this show so maybe people had to pick and choose because turn out was kind of light.
Or maybe Ghost is just so blatantly satanic that their pop music sensibilities are lost on the crowd they are trying to reach.  Metal nerds get it but it might be too much for mainstream FM hard rock radio listeners.

Who knows.  All I know is that this was a fun show.  They have upped the production values since the last time I saw them and the non stop touring has made them into a machine.

This is my capture of evenings ritual.  Hope you enjoy it.


Ogden Theatre
Denver, CO (USA)

Recorded and Mastered by SxPxDxCx
Source: AT933 >SP-SPSB-1 > M10
Transfer: M10 > USB > Cooledit > CDWave > FLAC > MP3
Run time: 75:31.62

01 - intro -
02 Per Asperi ad Inferi
03 Con Clavi Con Dio
04 Prime Mover
05 Depth of Satan's Eyes
06 Elizabeth
07 Secular Haze
08 Stand By Him
09 Death Knell
10 Satan Prayer
11 Genesis
12 Year Zero
13 Ritual
14 - encore -
15. Monstrance Clock

Thursday, April 11, 2013

Bob Seger & The Silver Bullet Band live in Denver, CO 2013-04-02

I've seen a lot of bands of the years but Bob Seger wasn't one of them.  No particular reason really.  The man has written some great songs.  A lot of people might know him from a certain car company beating his song Like A Rock to death in television commercials for years and years.

Anyway a friend offered me a ticket and I figured what the yell.  I even skipped seeing Anthrax for this show.

What I didn't know was our seats were 1 row of seats from being as far away from the stage as you can sit.  Not that I'm complaining.  I had a lot of fun.  And thanks to the forward thinking designers of the sound system for this giant hockey arena it didn't sound to bad at all.

That said this is one of those Warts and All recordings that I allude to in my mission statement.  The people in front of us are pretty chatty.  So if that's not your bag I might skip this one.  But if your a fan of the old time rock n roll or are just curious to hear what it sounds like in in section 322 row 13 check it out.

Bob Seger & The Silver Bullet Band

Pepsi Center
Denver, CO 2013-04-02

Taped and Transferred by SxPxDxCx
Source: AT933 >SP-SPSB-1 > M10
Transfer: M10 > USB > Cooledit > CDWave > FLAC
Run time: 112:27.39

01 Detroit Made %
02 Tryin' to Live My Life Without You
03 The Fire Down Below
04 Mainstreet
05 Old Time Rock & Roll
06 All The Roads (new song)
07 Like a Rock
08 Travelin' Man
09 Beautiful Loser
10 Roll Me Away
11 Come to Poppa
12 California Stars
13 We've Got Tonight
14 Turn the Page
15 Sunspot Baby
16 - band intros -
17 Katmandu
18 - encore -
19 Against the Wind
20 Hollywood Nights
21 - encore 2 -
22 Night Moves
23 Rock and Roll Never Forgets

% Fades in.