Thursday, January 20, 2011

Hank Williams Jr. Live and DRUNK!!!!!!

What we have here isn't one of my recordings.  This has been floating around trading circles and the internet for years and years.  Most likely recorded by a pissed off sound engineer.

It's part musical concert, part blackout drunken freakout.  This is Hank Williams Jr in what I've been told might be Kansas City in the late 90s.  He brings Kansas City Chief Derrick Thomas out to play on one of the songs so it has to be from before 2000 when Derrick died.

Anyway, Ol' Bocephus is in fine form on this night.  After a rousing rave up intro by his backing band he stumbles through the MNF theme and then on into Family Tradition where he is so drunk that I swear he is speaking some language other then English. 

Other highlights include when he speaks in 3rd person and channels Garth Brooks in a not very flattering light.  A fun drinking game might be to have a drink everytime he says "Kiss My Ass", "Up Your Ass" or any of the countless swear words that he uses.  But be warned he says it a lot.

The sound quality is not the best but it is more then worth a listen just for some laughs.

01 Intro
02 Monday Night Football Theme
03 Family Tradition
04 Young Country
05 There's A Tear In My Beer
06 I'm Going To Tell You Bastards Something
07 Kaw-Liga
08 A Country Boy Can Survive
09 Outro

 Download link here

Sunday, January 9, 2011

The Slackers @ The Bluebird Theater, Denver, CO 2011-01-04

The Slackers haven't been to Denver for 3 years so when they come to town it is a must see show.
This time it is in celebration of their 20th year as a band.  If you get a chance go see these guys live do it..

Check them out here

Now for my recording of their Denver show.

The Slackers

Bluebird Theater
Denver, CO

Taped and Transferred by SxPxDxCx
Source: MBHO KA-200N > JK Labs DVC-V12 > JB3
Transfer: JB3 > USB > Cooledit > CDWave > FLAC
Time: (99:07.5)

01. Keep Him Away
02. Watch This
03. Boll Weevil
04. And I Wonder
05. Knowing
06. Easy
07. - Denver interlude -
08. Make Me Smile
09. Sarah
10. Work Song
11. - Waxtrax shout out -
12. What Went Wrong
13. How It Feels
14. Keep It Simple
15. - Wasted Days intro -
16. Wasted Days
17. Mr. Tragedy
18. Feed My Girl
19. - 20 years -
20. Soldier
21. The Same Everyday
22. Have The Time
23. - encore & band intros -
24. Thank You
25. Please Decide
26. Saw A Fool
27. Cupid (Sam Cooke)


Sunday, January 2, 2011

Lenny Lashley, live @ 3 Kings, 2010-12-17

Lenny Lashley, for those of you that don't know, used to sing in the Boston punk rock band Darkbuster as well as the country tinged band Lenny and the Piss Poor Boys.  I would suggest that you seek out any all all of both bands material.  Lenny doesn't tour away from the East coast very often so it was a special treat to have him come visit us in Colorado.  Here is his set from 3 Kings Tavern on Friday December 17th.

Lenny Lashley

3 Kings Tavern
Denver, CO 2010-12-17

Taped and Transferred by SxPxDxCx
Source: SBD > JB3
Transfer: JB3 > USB > Cooledit > CDWave > FLAC

01. - rackem' up -
02. J.F.K.
03. Try To Make It Right
04. Whiskey and Water
05. Viva Rock & Roll
06. - interlude -
07. Anti-Christ(mass)
08. Bad Luck
09. Shoulda Know Better
10. Tonight
11. - obvious lie -
12. Stay Free
13. Hotter Than July
14. Two Robbers *
15. - interlude -
16. Leaving In The Morning %
17. Cambridgeport Saloon
18. Can't Take Anymore

* With Dan Utter on harp and Prav Grant on guitar

%  With Chad Price


Saturday, January 1, 2011

The Takers, 3 Kings Tavern, Denver, CO 2009-09-14

Great Florida band that has sadly broken up since this Denver show.  The put out an excellent album on Suburban Home called Taker Easy.  Hunt that down in you dig what you here on this recording.  I believe that singer / guitarist Devon Vlasin is working on a solo project.

The Takers

3 Kings Tavern
Denver, CO

Taped and Transferred by SxPxDxCx
Source 1: MBHO KA-200N > JK Labs DVC-V12 > JB3
Transfer: JB3 > USB > Cooledit > CDWave > FLAC

01. - intro -
02. Baltimore
03. Diamond Ring
04. - interlude -
05. Living 90 Proof
06. - interlude -
07. Friends In Bottles
08. My Favorite Memory (Merle Haggard)
09. - inerlude -
10. St. Johns Son
11. Drift
12. Threw It All Away
13. unknown
14. The North Side Of Me
15. Social Smoker
16. Taker Easy *
17. Curse Of A Drunk *

* From the 2009-09-12 show